top of page

A Conversation with Sandratra Kerr, Founder and CEO, Echoes of Madagascar and Christ Movement

"For God so loved the world that He gave His one and only Son, that whoever believes in Him shall not perish but have eternal life." - John 3:16 (NIV)

Who are we? Why are we here? How can we make a difference in our lives and the lives of others? How can we find and fulfill our life's purpose? According to Deepak Chopra, "becoming a leader is the most crucial choice one can make. It is the decision to step out of darkness and into the light."

As we reach inside ourselves, we realize that we begin taking responsibility first for directing our own lives, and eventually find that others are looking towards us for guidance because as leaders, we have seemingly figured out the answers to these questions. Sandratra Kerr has found her answers and is achieving leadership of her two organizations. She found a need of others, fulfilled it, continues to lead others to help her fulfill even greater needs, thus lifting the group's potential at every step. Her leadership comes not from herself, but from another. Her belief, trust and love for her Father. Her Lord and Savior, Jesus Christ.

1. Tell us about Echoes of Madagascar and Christ Movement. How did these two non-profits start and why did you start them?

I started Echoes of Madagascar with my husband, Lance. We wanted to help out family members sending money and other things. When we started doing these things, we knew it had the potential to be bigger. We registered in 2009 as a non-profit. That is when it got very busy but we had a heart to help. That was our main reason. It was a learning experience. In a Third World country everything is difficult. We started with one community supplying school supplies for the children so they could go to school and learn and not be at home helping to make money to support their families. In Madagascar, poverty has two levels - physical and spiritual; but they are more spiritually lacking, this is why we started Christ Movement.

2. Tell us a bit about yourself.

I am a stay-at-home mother who home-schools her children, Riansota (7) and Vahilia (5). Out of all the things I am involved in, parenting is the hardest. Finding a balance between being a mom, wife, and missionary can be difficult. If I was not rooted in Christ, all that I do would not be possible. I am also in the process of writing a book called, "I Thought I Was A Christian Before I Became A Christian." We know God and believe God but do not fully understand until we believe that knowledge, trust, and breathe in His love.

3. You recently took a team with you to Madagascar. What was the purpose? How did it go?

When you take a team to a Third World country, that requires more than 30 hours of travel, its difficult. A mission team should bond, pray, and fellowship. Those who go on mission trips were chosen by God. They are seeds He wants to plant. I took the team so that some of the communities in Madagascar could meet Americans, love on them, have hope. Also so the team could see where the money we raise is going and how it is being used. There are some villages in Madagascar that only get visitors once or twice a year. It is important for them to know that there are people who care about them.

My first mission trip was in 2012 when I took my children who were three and under two years of age. This trip was a learning experience for me. When I returned home, I wanted to go again, but God told me no. He wanted me to stay and learn. Listen to Him. Prepare myself mentally, physically and spiritually. It was during this time that I started studying the Bible to gather knowledge of the truth. Its all about patience and learning. I took off a year to be with my family and learn.

Sandratra was diagnosed with Lupus in 2014, but that did not stop her. She continued to believe and follow the path God put before her and returned to Madagascar to do more of God's work.

4. When you are in your home country, what are some of the things you like to do?

I love to do everything. I can be myself. I try to be myself when I am in America, but in Madagascar I can truly be myself. There is no privacy, no boundaries. I love being outdoors. I love being with the people. And the food is better. (She laughes, and I agree).

5. Rick Warren wrote a book, "What On Earth Am I Here For." There is a section that addresses how we are made for a mission. Do you believe God has made you for this mission you are doing with your organizations?

Rick Warren's book led me to be a missionary. After taking the 40-day challenge from the book, I turned my life around for God. And I am very thankful for my life.

6. "In whom also we have obtained an inheritance, being predestinated according to the purpose of Him who work all things after the counsel of His own will." - Ephesians 1:11. Does this scripture have meaning for your purpose?

Being a Christian is not a label. It is being an ambassador for Christ. If we really receive Christ we have the same power to be "Christ"like. This is the main purpose of John 3:16. After being saved, we should not just stay at the beginning, we should go further and help activate the Christ in us through the Holy Spirit. We need to step out of the safety zone.

7. How do you think the things you are doing with your ministry can influence other women who may be afraid to take the first step?

We help people in Madagascar, but all we do effect all people. This is why I do this. We grow as we help others. I've grown since starting this mission. What I do is put seeds in the country to grow God.

Every person is valuable. Every little thing we do help others. When someone offers to babysit my children to donating phones, helps someone else. For anyone, when you build a relationship built on love and trust, we have something to give that is greater than ourselves. Never limit yourself because you don't think you have what you need. God will always provide. All we achieve is done through love. Without love we have nothing.

For more information on Echoes of Madagascar and Christ Movement, please visit the website at: www.EchoesofMadagascar.org

Sandratra is currently planning another mission trip to her home country. I, too, hope to accompany her next year so that I may photo journal and write another post about this amazing woman.

The photos below are only a few of the many taken throughout the years. They are courtesy of Echoes of Madagascar Facebook page.

Assistant Pastor Deena, Didi, and Pastor Deena's husband

A group of children from a Madagascar village

Sandratra and Didi planting during a mission trip

Sandratra with husband and children Riansota and Valihia and friend Didi

Sandratra and her husband Lance

Covers of a book Sandrata recently finished


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Clean
  • Twitter Clean
  • Instagram Clean
  • White YouTube Icon
  • RSS Clean
bottom of page