top of page

Being a Black Woman in America


I was born in the United States over fifty years ago. My family, great-grandmother, grandmother, and mother, have been here longer. But even though we have a legacy, I still feel like an uninvited guest in my own home. I feel this way because I am reminded everyday, in little ways, that I am not wanted. Even though my for-mothers and fathers, helped to build up this country and fight in wars, my skin color determines how much I get paid, where I live, and how far I will go.

You my not agree, but sadly it is true. Everyday I turn on the television or read the newspaper, I am reminded of this. I can try to change this by graduating from college, working hard, getting accepted in "privileged" organizations, but I cannot change my skin color. So with this all said, what exactly does it mean to be a black woman in America.

1. Although Black women are in the majority, Black men get all the recognition. They will also get paid more.

2. Knowing you will be labeled as an "angry Black woman" if you are seen showing our true emotions.

3. Being told that you will always be ghetto no matter how you dress if you wear braids or dreads.

4. Knowing that you will get that "job" because you are a Black woman and fit a need in that company.

5. Being strong and independent is a good trait for a woman, except if you are a Black woman.

6. That you will have many labels just because you are a Black woman - "mammy" or "welfare queen" or "Bitch".

7. When people see one negative thing about Black woman, they will believe it is true for all Black woman.

8. Being told that being strong and struggling is expected because you are a Black woman.

9. Your value in the Black community is determined by the color of your skin and the curl pattern in your hair.

10. Knowing that non-Black women are praised for having our features and appropriating our culture that we are often mocked for.

11. Being dark skinned is acceptable for Black men, not Black women.

12. Always seeing non-Black women in lead movie roles although they are many very talented Black women in Hollywood.

13. Always knowing that no matter how bad things become in the Black community, you are always expected to support the community.

14. If you wear a weave or relax your hair, you are a traitor in your own community, but if you wear your hair natural you are mocked by the Black community and non-Black community.

15. It is knowing that if you marry someone outside your race, you are a traitor even though Black men have been doing it for years.

16. It is knowing that you have no other choice but to succeed in order to survive.

17. Knowing that it is okay to be mediocre and a White female but a Black female and a failure.

18. Being mocked, hated, unwanted, imitated, ignored all the time.

19. Feeling like a stranger in your home country and an enemy, too.

20. Surviving all the bulls***t the world throws at you with a smile on your face as you scream loudly on the inside.

Although I have had bad experiences for many, many years, I still believe that there are people who will support you, admire you, love you because you are you. Not just a Black woman.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Clean
  • Twitter Clean
  • Instagram Clean
  • White YouTube Icon
  • RSS Clean
bottom of page