top of page

A Black American in a Diverse America


What exactly is Diversity. According to Webster's Dictionary, it means differences in racial and ethnic, socioeconomic, geographic and educational backgrounds. It is also the differences between people's opinion, backgrounds, religious beliefs, political beliefs, sexual orientation and life experiences.

With the issues of diversity being discussed greatly in the news and talked about in the streets, I though I would post my feelings on how I feel it is to be a Black American in a Diverse America.

I do not often discuss my thoughts openly, not for fear of what others will have to say, but because I like to maintain the peace I have surrounded myself with in my life. I enjoy the simplicity of my life and am not ready to disturb that sense of serenity. However, with the way things have been happening around me, and what I have been hearing lately, I though it may be time for me to say a few things.

So, hear I go!

Appearance - The clothes we wear will never change how some people feel about us. In the Black community, some feel if you dress a certain way you will receive respect. I ,too, believe clothes make a man/woman, but if I wear sweatpants or baggy jeans it does not mean I am a criminal or am not educated. It just means that I wish to be comfortable. Why is it when others do it, they are called "college students". Why do I have to be labeled "lazy" or "welfare recipient". Stop watching television and realize that each Black person in an individual and should be viewed as such.

Police Target - If I drive a car and am a Black person, I am a "must stop" for the police. It's unfortunate but sadly true. Black Americans are pulled over for "suspicious behavior" when driving by police officers more than any other drivers. We are not all criminals. It is possible that most Black Americans are law abiding citizens who respect the law.

Black American Spokesperson - This is a title I have received and did not know I was nominated for. And I unknowingly held this title many, many times. When I am out at a social event, someone will approach me and start discussing an issue that just happened involving a Black American. Everyone in the circle or at the table turn towards me as if I going to become a militant supporter of my people. I support my people and will stand up when I believe they are being treated unfairly, but I am not going to be militant about it. Wouldn't you do the same if your people were being treated unfairly?

Suspicious Shopper - Why is it that every time I go shopping at a very nice store, I am followed or asked if there is anything they can help me find. This even happens at Walmart! I politely say, 'no' and keeping shopping only to see that I am still being followed. Once again, stop watching television and gathering false information about Black Americans. We are all individuals.

White Man's Fantasy - Yes, Black woman are beautiful. Yes, we have curvy bodies and confident attitudes, but not every White man wants to be with us, or as Black men say, "Take our woman away." We come in all shapes, sizes and colors. Truth be told, we are every man's fantasy...because we are good women who just happen to be Black. And yes, my boyfriend loves me because I have curves, can be sarcastic, have a great sense of humor, am confident and beautiful. Not because I am Black.

Being Educated - Having an education does not mean I want to be someone else. It just means I want more for myself just like everyone else. When I was in school, I was often made fun of because I was a nerd. I loved reading, getting good grades and just being the best I could be. I did not act or speak like what people considered "ghetto girl". I used proper wording and kept my clothes on my body. I was this type of person because I wanted more than what I was given in life. I wanted to make a difference and be a difference.

Hair - Just because my hair is not straight and at times I have broken combs while combing it, does not mean I do not take care of it. Being natural is what Black woman did before we were side blinded by what society says is the "ideal" girl. I love my braids, dreads, afros, or whatever natural style I choose to wear. I am Black and am proud of my hair and who I am.

There are many other things I could add to the above, but at the moment will to stop here. I do have moments when I can be the "stereotypical" Black American Woman, but that is only when it is very necessary...and those moments do not happen to me often. I have learned how to be a lady. A beautiful Black lady. And remember when you meet me, view me accordingly. I will do the same for you!


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Clean
  • Twitter Clean
  • Instagram Clean
  • White YouTube Icon
  • RSS Clean
bottom of page