top of page

The Advantages and Disadvantages of Being Black

This is the fourth post in my Black History Month series. I do hope you the reader are enjoying these posts. I do not mean to offend anyone in any way by expressing my opinions on the social issues presented here. I write from personal experience on what I have observed or learned over the years. If you wish to disagree with things I have written about thus far, I respect that. If you wish to agree with the things I have written about thus far, I respect that, too.

This post, as you can see by the above title, is about the pros and cons of being Black. In my lifetime, I have encountered many pros and many cons. This post will cover both. Let's start with four disadvantages.

1. Black American are resourceful, imaginative and creative when it comes to dealing with all the challenges life presents us.

2. Black Americans are resilient. We have bounced back from many setbacks and come back stronger than before.

3. Black Americans are very spiritual. With God, all things are possible.

4. Black Americans are humorous. I'm not talking about comedians. I am taking about our ability to laugh even when life is bringing dark days.

Now, for equality purposes, here are four disadvantages.

1. Black Americans are always stereotyped. The dumb ways of how we portray ourselves, films and just outright narrow mindedness have portrayed all Blacks as uneducated criminals who hate the white man and are ready to riot.

2. Black Americans are bad parents leaving our children poor and hungry in the streets. We may be the largest single parent homes in the nation, but we still love our children and want the best for them. I know I do.

3. Black Americans are lazy welfare recipients. With any racial group, you are going to find those few who believe that the Government "owes" them. Most Black Americans have jobs and work hard.

4. Black Americans do not make good friends. If you have let that stop you, then it's time to make a few new friends.

Even though this is Black History month, there are many other races that are dealing with diversity issues. Remember, we live together on one planet, in the United States of America. We are all here for a reason, a purpose. God gave man the freedom to choose. Use that freedom wisely.

Until next time, stay united.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Clean
  • Twitter Clean
  • Instagram Clean
  • White YouTube Icon
  • RSS Clean
bottom of page