top of page

Influential Women

I wanted this post to be about the Peace Walk I attended on Palm Sunday, but with other things needing to be finished first, I decided to share with you a post I wrote quite some time ago. I hope you enjoy this post. The Peace Walk post will be available on Thursday.

The following women have left or are leaving their mark on America through their support of political issues, writing, and diversity. The list may be short, but these women were/are a great influence on us all.

Millicent Fawcett - was an underrated leader of the suffrage movement. She dedicated her life to working for women's rights.

"A large part of the present anxiety to improve the education of girls and women is also due to the conviction that the political disabilities of women will not be maintained."

Emmeline Parkhurst - was the daughter of an anti-slave activist. She was a passionate feminist and influential women's rights activist. Emmeline formed the Women's Social and Political Union.

"We are here not because we are lawbreakers; we are here in our efforts to become law makers."

Shirley Jackson - wrote one of America's powerful fictional novel only months before it was published - The Lottery. Ms. Jackson's story appeared in the June issue of The New Yorker. It is a definite must read!

"Although the villagers had forgotten the ritual and last the original black box, they still remembered to use stones."

Joan Didion - is an American author known for her novels and journalism. Her writings explore the disintegration of American morals and cultural chaos, where the theme is individual and social fragmentation.

"I write entirely to find out what I'm thinking, what I'm looking at, what I see, and what it means. What I want and what I fear."

Remember to like, share, and subscribe to receive biweekly post on social issues and influences women. Until next time, be strong in yourself and be loud with your voice!


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Clean
  • Twitter Clean
  • Instagram Clean
  • White YouTube Icon
  • RSS Clean
bottom of page