top of page

Lend My Voice to Racism

"To be a racist in a racist society is to be normal; to reject racism, denounce lynchings, and to fight for Black political and economic rights is to be in a sybolic sense abnormal."

Georg Lukacs, from the book History and Class Consciousness

I wanted to wait before adding my voice to what is happening regarding the man who drove his car into a crowd of protesters in Charlottesville, VA killing one and injuring nineteen; the right-wing rally and counter demonstration in Seattle; and, even President Trump's "opinion" on the matter.

As an African American female, pastor and activists, I could have a great deal to say, but instead, would prefer to share personal experiences with you the reader with the hopes that you can either relate or understand how hating someone because their skin color is different from yours is causing the world to slide backwards into a bottomless pit instead of standing at the top of the mountain.

I can remember being different as a little girl when a woman handing out samples from the Easy Bake Oven at a mall in a all-White neighborhood overlooked my sister and myself. When my mother confronted her, the woman responded, "I didn't see them." I don't see how, we were the only two dark spots in the cluster of white.

White school friends were only that, "school" friends. When the bell rang, a group of us would get together to walk quickly, or run on some days, past the White children throwing rocks at us and calling us "niggers".

Having your glasses broken, suffering whips with a chain just because me and my friends were coming home from a school function at a roller rink in a all-White neighborhood. It was then that I learned that some people do not see colors. If it wasn't for our trolley driver, who was White, helping us, it could have been worse.

Going into stores and being followed. Having change placed on the counter in front of you because the cashier does not want to touch you. Having comments like, "you people always work hard". What the hell does that mean anyway???? These are some things that I have encountered recently.

Wake up, people! If you touch my hand the color does not come off. I am not in the store to steal, I am here to make a purchase. And anyone who wants to get ahead in life works hard. These things are because of people's own ignorance.

I grew up in all all-Black neighborhood being taught to hate "The Man". I think every Ghetto child is raised that way. It is so much easier to blame some one else for your failures, life, setbacks. But where do those you are raised in wealthy families get their "hate" from.' Is it taught by the parents, schools, friends. Are they being taught that anyone not like them is underneath them. Not as good as them. Not as smart as them. The list can go on forever.

Before you start thinking I am one-sided in this blog, hate can come from any person no matter what the skin color. I used to be one of those people, but had several events that happily changed my mind. And because of those events, I work to be a positive voice in this negative world of racism.

To those you hate, being a person of hate does nothing for the world but add to the darkness, and it does nothing for the person except brew more hate. Just for a moment, think. How would you feel if you were the recipient of constant hate because you were Black, Asian, Jewish, or Mexican. I do believe you would not like it. So why feed a cancer when you can take the proper medicine to rid yourself and the world of it.

To those you are on the end of hate, do not return the hate back. This makes you just as bad as the person dishing out the disease. Yes, have your protests but do not respond with words or actions, they only add gasoline to the fire already raging. Teach, preach, be open to share. In order to win the war, we have to win the individual battles first.

Are you ready to help eliminate hate or continue feeding it? It's your choice.

If you like this post, please like, share, subscribe. I am working on being more consistent with post every Tuesday and Thursday.

Until next time, Make the World A Better Place!


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Clean
  • Twitter Clean
  • Instagram Clean
  • White YouTube Icon
  • RSS Clean
bottom of page