top of page

The Smurfette Principle

The Smurfette Principle. What is it?

For starters, the Smurfette Principle comes from a form of sexism called "androcentrism." This implies that the male gender is "normal" and the female gender is "abnormal". WTH!! So, you are telling me that in this world, if compared to television/movies, there would only be one female surrounded by males. That is what a man's "normal" world would possibly look like. And, the female would be silent, girly, and dependent on the strong, knowledgeable and protective males. This is how I see the "normal" and "abnormal" explanation. How do you see it?

In my world, I am the Papa Smurf and Smurfette Principle. I am beautiful, girly, strong, extremely smart, and well prepared to take care of myself and others in my life. I am the alpha female and male. I guess we can thank or not thank the Smurf creators for this Smurfette Principle. In the cartoon and movie, Smurfette is the only girl and has a "female" characteristic as her only personality trait. If you know women, and I am most certain you do, there is no woman on this planet with just a "female" personality trait.

The Smurfette Principal makes it appears as though a female's only trait is the dependence on a male who is usually portrayed with several genetic perfections. To assume that one gender is better than another is a bad idea. Both genders have something special to offer each other. And, with the world having more females than males, do you agree that quite possibly this principle should portray the female as the dependable gender? Who else is going to bare your children, cook, clean, and do all the necessary things you refuse (or can't) do.

So, if you ask me, the Smurfette Principle is the strong leader carrying for all the dependent Smurfs. Smurfette is a true female principle.

I hope you enjoyed this post. Please share, comment, like, and subscribe for more biweekly post on social issues touching women and the stories of inspirational women.

Until next time, be the Bad Ass Smurfette in a world of sexist Smurfs!


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Clean
  • Twitter Clean
  • Instagram Clean
  • White YouTube Icon
  • RSS Clean
bottom of page